Dry Water

Standard

I opened the fridge. I grabbed some outdated leftovers and made my way to the garbage can. As a I opened the trash lid, my nostrils were filled with something nasty. And immediately, gagging ensued. Running to the bathroom I hear “what’s wrong?!” from my hubs who was enjoying breakfast at the table.

“Are you trying to sneeze?!” (I’ll admit the noise was probably confusing. Especially since my sneezes are pretty intense and have been mistaken for many things, including a cough).

“No! I was gagging! Something smells awful!”

And he threw some shoes on, tied up the trash bag, and ran it out to the dumpster.

“Babe! It’s raining outside, but I didn’t get wet! I looked and saw huge drops on the ground, but none of them touched me. It was really interesting!”

Since when has water been dry?

That morning, early this week, this experience reminded us that we can be involved in the things of God without being affected by the things of God.

And this afternoon as I start baking Easter cupcakes for hubs to take to share with his teacher friends tomorrow, my mind turns to Easter and the many people who celebrate this holiday without knowing its real meaning. They too, with or without knowing it, are involved in the things of God without being affected by the things of God. Sadly, many will fill churches this weekend out of duty rather than delight. They will be involved with the things of God on Easter Sunday morning, and the majority of them will, sadly, leave unaffected by the things of God. They will stand in the rain without getting wet.

And so today my heart is burdened for these people who are dry and thirsty without even knowing it, standing in the rain without feeling its refreshment; for those who have never been affected by the things of God; for those who do not know or believe in the power of Jesus’ death and resurrected life, the things which hold the most power to affect any life.

But then there are others who have been affected by the things of God in the past, but the affect feels evaporated, waning, worn, clouded these days; those who have new life through faith in Christ’s resurrected life, but have found their hearts calloused in a desert. Those who have faced circumstances that have hardened our hearts to being affected. Those who are busy doing the things of God that they have forgotten about God, involved in the things of God out of duty rather than delight, therefore numb to any affect.

So today, may the Holy Spirit rain upon those who haven’t felt a drop of rain in their entire life (those who do not know Jesus Christ as their personal Lord and Savior) and those who have been in a drought (those who know Jesus Christ as their personal Lord and Savior, but need to be reminded of the Easter story).

I pray Living Water will fall, soaking even the driest places.

Leave a Reply

