What About You Wednesday | Dustin

Standard

Today we welcome Dustin to the blog.

Let’s step into his season…

dustin's feet

Describe the season you currently find yourself in.

“I’ve been in a season of worth evaluation. Is it all worth it? Do you really want to do this for the rest of your life? Is the struggle/fight with sin really worth it? Is there a day when all of this gets easier? If not, can I make it to the end? Over the past several months these are the thoughts that have run through my head when looking at my relationship with Jesus and my call to ministry. There are so many times when ministry in the church is tiring and causes me to grow weary, followed immediately by the question “is it all worth it?” Is it worth it to wake up early to read the Bible and pray? Is it worth it to prepare sermons and Bible study discussions? Is it worth it to labor in prayer over the students in my ministry and the families in my church?”

What is God teaching you/revealing to you during this season?

“To many this sounds like something someone in a ministry role shouldn’t be asking so much, but the reality is that many of us do at some point ask the question, “Is it all worth it?” As I have gone through this season I have been drawn to steer my question to the One who has answered all questioning and brought me back to the truth every time! With mornings and nights on my face, 3 hour drives by myself with no radio, or just moments sitting in silence, asking God this question, “Is it worth it?” He never fails to answer. He has taught me so much as I have been open and honest to ask Him to show me the worth of living the Christian life and following Him with every part of me. He continues to reveal to me how much He loves me and because He loves me, it’s all worth it! This life is worth living, the struggles are worth fighting, the weight of ministry is worth carrying, all because He is worth more than all of it! God has continued to put in front me His worth and how great He is and from that everything else because more than worth it. And because He is who He is and He gives us value and worth and allows us to bear His image, that drives every part of my life!”

How have you/are you changing during this season?

“In this season God is radically changing my heart. He is causing me to see people differently, in that because He is worthy of all of our praise and He is good, my heart is continually chasing after people who don’t know Him. As He has revealed more and more to me the worth of living for Him, my heart towards people is that of urgent love, that they would come to know the God of the universe who is far more worthy of our lives and worship than we can know! He has taught me to delight in my trials and struggles because He allows me to go through them, in order that I would grow closer to Him and fall on Him! My time with Him has become sweeter as I have cried out to Him to show me the worth and value of this life lived for Him! In this season He has held me in His arms and given me peace in my heart! He has shown me that the tears, trials, struggles, fight against sin, and the weight of ministry are all worth it, simply for one reason, because HE IS WORTHY OF EVERYTHING I HAVE AND MORE!”

What encouragement would you like to share with someone who is in a similar season?

“My encouragement to those in a similar season is to not be afraid to go before God and ask Him “Is it worth it?” He welcomes our questions and answers them. Be honest with Him and allow Him to speak to your heart and show you that He is worthy of it all. And also my encouragement is that if you’re in a time of questioning the worth of this life as a Christ follower, know this, IT IS WORTH IT! It is with it, because He is worthy! ‘Worthy are You, our Lord and God, to receive glory and honor and power, for You created all things, and by Your will they existed and were created’ (Revelation 4:11).”

A Prayer for Dustin

O Lord, You are worthy of all glory and honor and praise! We thank You for the season You have Dustin in. We thank You that You are aware of Dustin’s season and are with him in it, teaching him. We thank You for giving Dustin the boldness to be honest with You. We thank You that without questions our faith would never grow. We are thankful that we serve a Big God who does not have an identity crisis based on our questions. Father, continue to show Yourself worthy to Dustin, in big ways and in small ways. Help him to find his worth in You and You alone. May he not find his worth in this world, in ministry, in spiritual disciplines, but may these be an out pour, a result of seeing how worthy You are. As other seasons of worth questioning come in Dustin’s life would You continually remind him what You are so evidently teaching him today? Give him the wisdom to carry out these lessons in his life. May Your worth be his motivation. May You continue to give Dustin eternal eyes, that see that his light (even when they feel heavy) and momentary (even when they feel like a life time) troubles are achieving for him an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. You never said it would be easy, but You said it would be worth it. In Your  Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

