Haircuts and Gardeners

Standard

“Your hair is getting really long.”

And I realized it’s been a year since I last sat in the spinning chair, with a black robe on and had someone snip my locks.

My curly hair is easy to manage and doesn’t need much upkeep or styling. It pretty much does its own thing and I try to tame it. But, there comes a point where it needs a little extra love.

You know it’s time to get a haircut when the ends of your hair are dry and the top of your head is still soaking wet. If that doesn’t do it, the fact that it becomes one tangled ball that hurts to comb through is a good sign.

But I’m always hesitant to get a haircut. No matter what I ask for, my hair always ends up shorter than what I was wanting. And then I have to go through that awkward length stage. I know you all know what I’m talking about.

hair cut

But, dead ends don’t lend to good growth. There comes a point when resisting a cut prolongs the growth of your hair, it’s a hindrance rather than a help. Your hair either slows in growing or stops completely.

And this isn’t just true about hair. Things grow in our hearts and lives. They need taming too, they need pruning.

The Bible says there are two kinds of things growing in our lives: things that are unfruitful and fruitful things that need to be cut in order to produce more.

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit He prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.” John 15:1-2

I wish deciphering when and what needs to be cut in my heart and life was as easy as detecting when I need to get my hair trimmed.

There are many outward signs of my inward parts, but the process of examining and dissecting these things can be complicated, time consuming, and painful.

I am thankful the Gardener knows what He is looking for, just as a hairdresser knows hair.

When trees and plants are pruned, they grow back beautifully. We see these signs of life popping up everywhere as seasons are changing and hints of spring bloom.

When my dead ends are cut off my hair looks more alive. I even feel more lively after a fresh cut. I feel healthier.

When dead or calloused parts of my heart are removed or pruned I feel refreshed, I feel the new life. When idols are removed I feel pain, but ultimately joy. Pruning may be painful but it proves profitable.

Haircuts may not turn out the way we like at first, but your hair will be healthier, and it always grows back.

So today may we be open to God’s pruning. May we know He prunes because He loves. His cuts are surgeon cuts, not cutting to wound but always to heal. His love is determined not to allow anything blemished or unworthy to remain in His beloved. So lay your heart bare before the Gardner, He’s a Professional Pruner.

“Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting” (Psalm 139:23-24).

And by the way, getting a hair cut is on my to do list this week (:!

Leave a Reply

