What About You Wednesday | Will

Standard

Today we welcome Will to the blog!

Let’s step into his season…

will's feet

Describe the season you find yourself currently in.

“It’s strange and uncomfortable how quickly life goes by as you get older. I’ve been interning at a church since August, but it seems like it was just yesterday when I started working there. The end date is rapidly approaching in July which means it’s time for me to start kicking it into gear as far as searching for a full-time job. To be honest, this is probably one of the most difficult seasons I have faced so far. Anxiety and fear of the future have been very active and present over the past couple months and have definitely  allowed me to see my desperate need for a constant Savior. Seasons of transition are hard for just about anyone, but it can be even more difficult when you don’t allow yourself to place your trust in the one thing that won’t change. ”

What is God teaching you/revealing to you during this season?

“We started a series on James last month at church which has been a major catalyst of encouragement to me during this season of change. James is jam-packed with so much wisdom for the life of the believer. While introducing the series, our pastor, Matt Chandler, described it as “the wooing love of a Father calling his children into safety and to human flourishing (life as God designed it to be).” Through this short book, James is relaying the words of God, our everlasting and loving Father, that encourage us to trust in Him, to walk in obedience according to His word, and to believe that His ways are better.

James 1:17,18 says, “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change. Of his own will he brought us forth by the word of truth, that we should be a kind of firstfruits of his creatures.” I think a lot of times believers can get so caught up in the daily “Christian” routine that we are quick to forget that God is our FATHER. Not only is He our father, but He is a good father. A good father loves his children unconditionally and does not leave them to fend for themselves. That’s exactly what the Lord is teaching me through this season of fear and anxiety. I don’t have to worry about what tomorrow holds, because I have a good Father who loves me enough that He gave His only Son so that I might have ETERNAL LIFE. His ways are better! He will discipline us and stretch us from time to time, but that’s just what a good father does. Without discipline or correction we would easily choose the world every time. It teaches us to trust in his sovereignty and goodness. The back half of that James verse says, “with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.” That is the anchor we have to sustain us. God’s character is immutable, meaning that He does not change. He has laid out His plans for us from before the foundations of the earth, and He will be faithful to complete the work that He began in us because He is a Good Father.”

How have you/are you changing during this season?

“Through all of this, the Lord has taught me to trust in His goodness and grace. This requires me to look back many times to see His past faithfulness in my life and to recount His grace and mercy in times when I’ve failed. Sanctification is a process, not an immediate occurrence. In order to become more like Christ, I have to allow Him to cut off hindrances in my life that keep me from growing into the person I was meant to be. It’s a painful procedure, but at the end I will look back and be able to see how this difficult season of life was all a part of His bigger plan. We must walk in obedience, and when we are uncertain about something, the best thing we can do is ask God for wisdom. “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him” (James 1:5). A good Father gives good gifts to his children.

This season has allowed my heart to become vulnerable to the Father’s love for me and through that my anxieties, fears, and sorrows have turned into joy. It is so incredibly refreshing to be able to confidently say, ‘I may not know what the future holds for me, but I do know that I have a good Father who loves me and will point me in the right direction.'”

What encouragement would you like to share with someone who is in a similar season?

“One of my all time favorite quotes is by Charles Spurgeon, which says ‘I have learned to kiss the wave that throws me against the rock of ages.’ The storms will come, but there is a Solid Rock who is unchanging. When hard times come, trust that God’s plan is greater than our fears and anxieties. Understand that trials and change are part of a bigger picture, and believe that you have a Good Father who loves you and will lead you along paths of righteousness.”

A Prayer for Will

Our Good Father, Thank You for the season Will is in. Thank You for being aware of Him and being with Him during this season. Thank You for what You are teaching him. Thank You for The Village Church and the way You have used it in Will’s life, and how You have worked through Will during his time there. As Will gazes toward the uncertainty of what’s next, may he find comfort in the truth that You already know where He will be a day, a week, a month, a year, a decade from now. Continue to teach him that You are less interested in where he ends up and what he is doing, than in who he is becoming. May You help him to place his identity and purpose fully in You. When he is forgetful, please remind him. May he be assured that You are not holding out on him, but always holding onto him. May he continue to walk humbly and give You the glory. May he know Your love deeper. Amen.

Leave a Reply

