Bright Red + White Polka Dots

Standard

It came suddenly, the knives stabbing my throat with each swallow. Shining a flash light in the back of the throat, bright red and white polka dots. Then the aches, the chills, and the sweats. Fever. Strep throat invades. What a pal.

After snow days and another recent bacterial infection, the last thing I thought I needed was more time to stay home, rest, and watch 7th Heaven, HGTV, and Food Network. I needed to work, because when you’re paid hourly there are no such things as sick days, and the bank account has took some major hits lately.

And on top of all of this, it’s my husband’s Spring Break. We made plans for adventuring outdoors.
Plus, who wants to take care of their sick wife during their time off? This made me feel even sicker.

But after sucking up reality, hubs swiftly and gracefully took on the nurse role.

“I’m gonna take care of you.”

And he meant it.

Rubbing essential oils to fight the aches, pushing fluids when I resisted, making soft things for me to eat and doing the dishes, making two trips to the grocery store since I broke the first thermometer, sleeping on the floor in the living room to make sure I was okay on the sofa during the night, and making the call to the doctor when we realized I was only getting worse. He was so patient with me, not the easiest patient.

Why now God? Why of all times do I have to get sick now? It’s an inconvenience to both me and hubs.

“In sickness and in health…”

The promise echoed.

God had a different type of adventure planned for us this spring break. Our memories aren’t formed by new places, beautiful spaces, or familiar faces. This week we ventured into a deeper closeness. A love that isn’t sustained on roses and road trips, but on sacrifice and service.

“I don’t want you to get this,” I told him as I stopped him from getting to close to me. But he doesn’t mind, he thinks being near me is worth the risk.

Reminds me of Love Himself, laying His life down for His friends.

And I’m thankful that God redeems what He allows, using strep as a rep of His love.

Leave a Reply

