Out of Control

Standard
The snow came suddenly. I was errand running. When I went into the store the concrete was grey, when I came out it was white.

I began my journey home, taking things slowly, following the tire ridges of those who had gone before me.

Nearing home, I had three short turns left. As I changed lanes I hit a patch and lost control. Sliding. It was only a second but it felt like forever. Shaking. Panic. Fear. Finally my car stopped with no harm done. I carefully continued home.

'the snow came suddenly. i was errand running. when I went into the store the concrete was grey, when I came out it was white. I began my journey home, taking things slowly, following the tire ridges of those who had gone before me. nearing home, I had three short turns left. as I changed lanes I hit a patch and lost control. sliding. it was only a second but it felt like forever. shaking. panic. fear. finally my car stopped with no harm done. I carefully continued home.  early this morning another type of precipitation fell, tears. an outward sign of an inward battle in my heart, another day of feeling the hard realization that I have no control over God's timing in my life. I've been stuck in winter in my soul for quite some time, disappointed and discouraged, and I long for spring again. but just as winter here on earth is fighting to leave, so is winter in my soul.  when I hit the patch of snow and began sliding I immediately started braking out of fear and a desire to try to control things (one of the worst things you can do and it doesn't help at all). once I took my foot of the brakes, I soon stopped sliding. once we let go of trying to control things, life tends to go smoother, or at least we live life more full of faith than fear. today God used the beauty of winter to remind forgetful me, once again, to surrender control, for I am only safe under His control. that His timing and His ways are perfect. even when it's longer and more painful in the present, in light of eternity it is just a blink.  so even though spring sounds lovely to my soul, I will joyfully accept the beauty of winter today and for however long He chooses. snow falling out my window, hot chocolate in my mug, and a confidence that I know Who holds my time in His hands.'

Early this morning another type of precipitation fell, tears. An outward sign of an inward battle in my heart, another day of feeling the hard realization that I have no control over God’s timing in my life.

I’ve been stuck in winter in my soul for quite some time, disappointed and discouraged, and I long for spring again. But just as winter here on earth is fighting to leave, so is winter in my soul.

When I hit the patch of snow and began sliding I immediately started braking out of fear and a desire to try to control things (one of the worst things you can do and it doesn’t help at all). Once I took my foot of the brakes, I soon stopped sliding.

Once we let go of trying to control things, life tends to go smoother, or at least we live life more full of faith than fear.

Today God used the beauty of winter to remind forgetful me, once again, to surrender control, for I am only safe under His control. That His timing and His ways are perfect. Even when it’s longer and more painful in the present, in light of eternity it is just a blink.

So even though spring sounds lovely to my soul, I will joyfully accept the beauty of winter today and for however long He chooses. Snow falling out my window, hot chocolate in my mug, and a confidence that I know Who holds my time in His hands.

(These words originally written on snow day 2/27/15. After posting to Instagram and Facebook, there was a lot of feedback from viewers which encouraged me to begin this blog. To you all, I am grateful.)

One thought on “Out of Control

  1. Nicole Hendley

    Preach. You are a WRITER of hope and a TEACHER of Godly change. Keep at it, Amy!!!! Proud of you and thankful to know you!!!! -Nicole

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

